Governance Committees

Awards | Ethics | Global Sponsorship |Meetings | Membership | Publications | Vegetation Classification | Website & Social Media 

You may also want to view information about Regional Sections and Working Groups.

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee administers the Awards Program of the Association (except for the Editors’ Award) and proposes to the Governing Board scientists to receive Association awards.

Chair, Joop H. J. Schaminée 

Sara Cousins
Martin Diekmann
Jason Fridley
Deborah Goldberg
Jan Lepš
Nina Smits
Kerry Woods

2018 Committee Report
2017 Committee Report (TBA)

Ethics Committee

The Ethics Committee discusses ethical guidelines and standards for publications, but also for the practice and application of research in vegetation science. Its aim is to develop a Code of Professional Ethics for the International Association for Vegetation Science.

Chair, Kerry Woods

Guillaume Decocq
Kazue Fujiwara
Keith Kirby
Annette Otte
Meelis Pärtel
Tom Wentworth

2018 Committee Report
2017 Committee Report

Global Sponsorship Committee

The Global Sponsorship Committee is responsible for facilitating greater participation in the Association by vegetation scientists facing financial and/or linguistic challenges, and for reviewing applications for waiver of membership fees and applications for free digital access to JVS and AVS.

Chair, David Zelený, Taiwan


Alessandra Fidelis -  Brazil
Lauchlan Fraser - Canada 
Alireza Naqinezhad - Iran
Peter C. Le Roux - South Africa
Camilla Wellstein - Italy

2018 Committee Report
2017 Committee Report

Meetings Committee

The Meetings Committee coordinates the Symposia of the Association and associated excursions. It evaluates proposals to host the meeting, advises the local organizing committees, and works to assure conformance with the established guidelines of the Association.

Chair, Javier Loidi 

Guillaume Decocq
Jason Fridley
Gudrun Bornette
Meelis Pärtel
Valério Pillar
Jodi Price
Angelika Schwabe-Kratochwil
Scott Franklin
Otto Wildi

2018 Committee Report
2017 Committee Report

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee serves to promote increased membership in the Association and better services for members. This includes solicitation of input from members or potential members, and the assessment of member services and benefits.

Chair, Jürgen Dengler (DE)

Javier Loidi (ES)
Bianca Andrade (BR)
Frank Yonghong Li (CN)
Riccardo Guarino (IT)

2018 Committee Report
2017 Committee Report

Publications Committee

The Publications Committee oversees the publications of the Association. It reviews and approves proposals from the Chief Editors for major changes in the structure and content of the journals, and is responsible for a recurring 4-year review of the Chief Editors.

Chair, Peter Minchin 
Bob Peet (US)
Hans Henrik Bruun (DK)
Jessica Gurevitch (US)
Tomáš Herben (CZ)
Michael Manthey (DE)
Martin Zobel (EE)
Norman Mason (NZ)

2018 Chief Editors Report

2017 Committee Report
2001 | 2005 | 2007 | 2011-12 | 2012-13

Website & Social Media Special Committee

The Website & Social Media Special Committee reviews the general structure and content of the Association website, updates links to other websites, and develops ideas about how to use new social media for communication in the Association.

Chair: Viktoria Wagner 

Heike Culmsee
Florencia Yannelli
Gerald Jurasinksi


Latest Issues

Journal of Vegetation Science

Applied Vegetation Science

IAVS Member Benefits