International Association for Vegetation Science logo

View Image

Click to view a larger version >>

right nav footer

Next Meeting

right nav footer

IAVS Member Benefits


Awards | Ethics | Global Sponsorship |Meetings | Membership | Publications | Vegetation Classification | Website & Social Media

You may also want to view information about Regional Sections and Working Groups.

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee administers the Awards Program of the Association (except for the Editors’ Award) and proposes to the Governing Board scientists to receive Association awards.

Chair, Joop H. J. Schaminée


Sara Cousins
Martin Diekmann
Deborah Goldberg
Jan Lepš
Nina Smits

Ethics Committee

The Ethics Committee discusses ethical guidelines and standards for publications, but also for the practice and application of research in vegetation science. Its aim is to develop a Code of Professional Ethics for the International Association for Vegetation Science.

Chair, Kerry Woods

Guillaume Decocq
Kazue Fujiwara
Keith Kirby
Annette Otte
Meelis Pärtel
Tom Wentworth

Global Sponsorship Committee

The Global Sponsorship Committee is responsible for facilitating greater participation in the Association by vegetation scientists facing financial and/or linguistic challenges, and for reviewing applications for waiver of membership fees and applications for free digital access to JVS and AVS.

Chair, Alessandra Fidelis - Brazil

Lauchlan Fraser - Canada  
Borja Jimenez - Czech Republic
Alireza Naqinezhad - Iran
Ndafuda Shiponemi - Namibia
David Zeleny - Tailand

Meetings Committee

The Meetings Committee coordinates the Symposia of the Association and associated excursions. It evaluates proposals to host the meeting, advises the local organizing committees, and works to assure conformance with the established guidelines of the Association.

Chair, Javier Loidi

Guillaume Decocq
Jason Fridley
Gudrun Bornette
Meelis Pärtel
Valério Pillar
Jodi Price
Angelika Schwabe-Kratochwil
Franklin Scott
Otto Wildi

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee serves to promote increased membership in the Association and better services for members. This includes solicitation of input from members or potential members, and the assessment of member services and benefits.

Chair, Michael Palmer

Michael Barbour
Alessandra Fidelis
John Hay
Inga Hiiesalu
Monika Janišová
Jitka Klimešová
Hoshino Yoshinobu
Alicia Acosta (liaison to the Global Sponsorship Committee)
Nina Smits (liaison to various committees)

Publications Committee

The Publications Committee oversees the publications of the Association. It reviews and approves proposals from the Chief Editors for major changes in the structure and content of the journals, and is responsible for a recurring 4-year review of the Chief Editors.

Chair, Peter Minchin
Bob Peet (US)
Hans Henrik Bruun (DK)
Jessica Gurevitch (US)
Tomáš Herben (CZ)
Michael Manthey (DE)
Martin Zobel (EE)
Norman Mason (NZ)

Reports: 2001 | 2005 | 2007 | 2011-12 | 2012-13


Vegetation Classification Special Committee

The Vegetation Classification Special Committee serves as a contact for all vegetation 
classification and mapping initiatives, facilitates communication among working groups 
and helps to pass information to all members.

Chair, Miquel De Cáceres

Milan Chytrý
Ulrich Deil
Pavel Krestov
Javier Loidi
Ladislav Mucina
Robert Peet
Jean-Paul Theurillat

Website & Social Media Special Committee

The Website & Social Media Special Committee reviews the general structure and content of the Association website, updates links to other websites, and develops ideas about how to use new social media for communication in the Association.

Chair: Gerald Jurasinski (acting)  

Jesse M. Kalwij
Michael Palmer
Solvita Rusina

Copyright © 2000-2010 by International Association for Vegetation Science. All rights reserved.